The Tagisan ng Talino 2021 (SHS Division)

Vaughn Ashley O. Marquez bags top prize in the recently concluded Tagisan ng Talino – Senior High School Division last February 20, 2021. The Tagisan ng Talino (TnT 2021) is an inter-school quiz bee competition sponsored by the College of Arts, Science and Education in celebration of the 58th Founding Anniversary of Trinity University of Asia. The event was participated in by 16 schools in Metro Manila, with a total of 48 SHS students belonging to the top class to compete for honor and prestige to represent their schools.

The quiz bee highlighted the importance of fostering a healthy interaction with the other school participants as well as challenges them to expand their knowledge and understanding in the areas of Mathematics, Science, History and Literature, Current events, and general information. The competition has 2 Elimination Rounds where out of an initial 48, 10 advances to the Semi-Final Round. From this, 6 contestants fought in the Final Round.

Vaughn Ashley O. Marquez, the Champion and Khirsten Rayne J. Flores, First Runner- up, both came from Good Shepherd Cathedral School, with Mr. Marco Paolo M. Lovendino as their coach.

Ms. Mary Jane O. Palmes representing Ismael Mathay Senior High School completes the winner circle as Second Runner up, and is ably coached by Ms. Christell Mae R. Alcano.

The contest was facilitated by Mrs. Cynthia Omampo as emcee and Mr. Immanuel San Diego as Quiz Master, with Dr. Serena C. Gomez as the Overall Chair for TnT 2021 together with the faculty of the Mathematics and Physical Sciences Department in the technical panel. Ms. Gracia DG Sarao, Mr. Ferandre Salatan and Mr. Geronimo Magcanta III serves as judges.

The event was also graced by the Chairman of the 58th TUA Founding Anniversary, Dr. Fernando Trinidad III together with Dr. Howell T. Ho, the Dean of the College of Arts, Sciences and Education and Ms. Jinky Gamit, Manager of the Marketing and Communication Office. They were joined by the faculty representing the different departments and colleges of TUA.