by Marvin A. Mercader, RRT

In line with the celebration of the 58th Foundation Anniversary of Trinity University of Asia, the College of Allied Health Sciences, in partnership with TUA’s Honor Society, organized the first ever inter-school quiz bee entitled “Let’s Get Quizzical: A Game of knowledge” last February 16th 2021; Tuesday at 8:00am-12:00pm. It was participated by 4 different schools namely, Immaculada Concepcion College that have seventeen (17) participants, Eulogio Rodriguez Jr. High School with twelve (12) participants, Holy Redeemer School of Kalookan with five (5) participants, and lastly, Don Antonio de Zuzuarregui Sr. Memorial Academy with one (1) representative. The inter-school quiz bee event was created for the Senior High School students to promote the College of Allied Health Sciences and their 3 best programs namely Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy, Bachelor of Science in Radiologic Technology, and Bachelor of Science in Respiratory Therapy. Also, this event serves as an open door of opportunities to help the participants to decide for their college course and consider the 3 programs since most of them are still undecided.

The Quiz bee started with thirty-five (35) participants; they undergo the Elimination Round via Kahoot that qualifies sixteen (16) participants to the next Elimination Round. It was followed by the Semi-Final round with twelve (12) participants. It was soon narrowed down to five (5) participants that will play the final round. At the end of the Quiz Bee, Ms. Christian Paula Cruz from Holy Redeemer School of Kalookan was pronounced as the Champion, Ms. Nicole Briones of Eulogio Rodriguez Jr. High School bagged 1st runner-up and Mr. Angelo Colasito, from Immaculada Concepcion College for 2nd runner up.

The masters of ceremonies were Mr. Lanz Jerlan Peña and Ms. Kaira Jeremih Fransisco, the Chairperson and Vice Chairperson of the College of Allied Health Sciences Local Council, respectively. The quiz masters were Mr. Marvin Mercader, RRT, the Program Chair of the Department of Radiologic Technology and Ms. Ma. Eleonor San Gabriel, RPh, PharmD, the Program Chair of the Department of Pharmacy. Mr. Karsten Tolentino and Ms. Lira Aday, were behind the Technical Team, Ms. Charlene Gonzales, Ms. Samira Blando, Ms. Ivy Claire Bermudez, Ms. Mave Mico, Ms. Michelle Mendoza, and Ms. Ma. Danica Bascao were the score tabulators, and Ms. Sophia Beatriz Sulit was the Head of the Organizing Committee. The opening remarks was given by the College of Allied Health Sciences Dean, Dr. Rufo B. Aggarao, and the closing remarks was addressed by the CAHS Local Council Chairperson, Mr. Lanz Jerlan D. Peña.